Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:



2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of Heil central air conditioners

Popularity:
#46 of 69 brands of central air conditioners
26% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 125 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    33
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    0
  • Neutral
    4
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    8
  • Very Unsatisfied
    80

Read more about Heil central air conditioners

Read reviews of other Air Conditioner brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
123456789101112Next >>

Date created: 2018-11-03 Name: Engstfeld
Location: Slidell, LA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Crappy evaporator coil"
After we had this system installed, we noticed the air was warmer and clammier than the prior unit at the same t-stat setting. We had to lower the t-stat down a couple of degrees to get the same comfort. Which meant the unit ran practically all the time! I installed a whole house dehumidifier and that did the trick, and we were able to then raise the t-stat temperature back to the pre-Heil setting, but I shouldn't have had to do that. In the year of running the unit without the dehumidifier, a couple of the vents dripped water occasionally and mold/mildew formed on our cathedral ceiling in the living room, which I blame on the poor humidity climate control. Not cool, Heil. Never Heil again.

Date created: 2018-07-02 Name: Thomas Garden
Location: Stockbridge, GA

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Broke down twice in 18 months"
We brought a 14 SEER unit in September of 2016. Going into our first year of having the unit the coil got a leak in it. We got that fixed under warranty. Then in May of 2018, the compressor went out. This Heil unit has broken down twice in 18 months. We called to get the unit fixed, they will replace the compressor but we have to pay 600 dollars to fill it back up. To buy a unit costing thousands of dollars and their part broke down. The company should be looking into the issue but International Comfort Products doesn't care about their products or the people who buy their units. I know companies are out to make money but they should take care of this issue. 18 months, two major issues. When you call the company, they say, "I'm sorry and understand your frustration but we can't help you." Thanks a lot for nothing.
Date created: 2018-06-04 Name: Retired installer

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"HVAC"
Reading the negative reviews of Heil HVAC equipment one thing is clear. The install is most likely the issue on the majority of the issues. I have installed many a/c units over my time in the industry and have had to go back on install other so called contractors have done and had to inform the homeowner that they have a bad install. Homeowners need to thoroughly research the contractors before deciding on the one to do the install for them. I installed an ICP product on my sisters house in 2005 and have not had to do anything to it other then clean the condenser coil and keep the drain line clear on the ahu. For those who read this need to know this Carrier owns ICP and a Heil unit is essentially the same thing as a Carrier. The product is solid and experiences no more issues than all the other brands. The warranty is 10 years just like other brands plus the Mainline Heil carry a 5 year no Hassle warranty, if you choose to go with an ICP product make sure you have it installed by an ICP Product dealer (contractor). They know the systems better than those that are not ICP dealers and also know the warranty issues (not made up issues like "this brand typically has blower motor problems" which I read in a review) This goes for Carrier, Trane, Lennox etc. Use the Dealers for those brands to do the install. You go with cheap contractor you get a cheap install and that is not the equipment's fault. One last thing in one of the review the individual said and I quote "Thank god I purchased the extended warranty" The Heil equipment comes with a 5 year parts out of the box and when registered within 90 days of install it get another 5 years for total of 10 years ( like most brands) so if he paid for an additional 5 years he got ripped off. Do your homework before you decide.
Date created: 2017-11-14 Name: R. Koch
Location: St Petersburg, FL

Satisfaction Rating:
2 of 5 stars Somewhat Unsatisfied

Review:
"Heil 2-ton"
Fan motor in the condenser unit failed after only 4 months. Took 3 days to get the replacement motor shipped, and it was bad upon installation. The installer has been very good and prompt to respond, but I'm not impressed with Heil.
Date created: 2017-10-31 Name: K Henderson
Location: Doylestown, PA

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"Very Pleased"
Our house is much more comfortable than it has ever been. The 2 stage unit works great, even when we have a lot of company over. I give a lot of credit to the installing contractor for asking the right questions and doing high quality work. And if I have any problems in the next 10 years, it's under warranty.
Date created: 2017-09-21 Name: Blake Roulette
Location: Pelzer, SC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unsatisfactory"
The unit is a good unit when working my unit is between 4./5 6 ye a rd taking care of no problems until now unit blower motor went out discovered a consistent problem with this unit. Replaced blower motor now having to deal with failed compressor 1 day apart. Installer states that blower motor is a known problem but no relief from manufacturer. Replacing blower locks me into replacing compressor will mean I will have invested all most half of what a new unit would cost with new warranty. Theses items are made in Mexico and have problems from the beginning. Heil needs to step up and take care of their customers as of now I will tell everyone I know not to deal6with heil products. Warranty in or out a unit this young should last longer. We have allow manufacturers to do this to us to long. Stand up for you products and take care of the buyers.
Date created: 2017-06-30 Name: D. Davis
Location: Ooltewah, TN

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Service"
I bought this unit in 2009. In 2012 the variable speed motor went out. That was replaced by company who sold and installed unit. The unit has always been noisy. Here it is June 2017. The same motor went out again. The company ordered new one on Tuesday, here it is Friday no motor. They advised it should be in Monday, no guarantee. They advised company gets in no hurry shipping. They aren't sweating. Thank God I bought extended warranty or I would be screwed. They advised me with parts and labor these motors are $1500 to replace. Warranties are great but they don't cool the house while waiting on some moron to ship the part they are sitting on.
Date created: 2017-06-21 Name: J. Nate
Location: Scottsdale, AZ

Satisfaction Rating:
5 of 5 stars Very Satisfied

Review:
"5.1 ton Heil air conditioner"
We just replaced our 10 year old Trane that split at the seams, with a 5.1 ton Heil, and we are amazed how well it cools in 115 degree heat! The unit is super quiet and cost much less than many other brands. I'm not exact on the series or model that we purchased, but it is a heat pump type. We are elated at the quality and the price! It is important to have a good installer, as with any unit.
Date created: 2016-09-14 Name: KCroteau
Location: rhode island

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Replacement compressor"
After the compressor went bad the system never fired up. It burned all the parts three or four times. System is bad now. Heil doesn't want to hear it. Never buy Heil.
Date created: 2016-09-12 Name: Vicky B
Location: Mebane, NC

Satisfaction Rating:
1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Air conditioning coils just out of warranty"
Don't you all find it typical that as soon as your warranty expires your product fails? I am only 5 weeks over my warranty period and now have been told that no amount of complaining will help. I just have to pay to install new coils. You would think that a grace period might be in place. So disappointing.
123456789101112Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to mandores.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of mandores.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2018 mandores.com