Find Local Contractors

1. I need a new:



2. My zip code is:

Consumer Reviews of State water heaters

Popularity:
#34 of 47 brands of water heaters

28% of customers recommend
2 of 5 stars 163 reviews

  • Very Satisfied
    37
  • Somewhat Satisfied
    9
  • Neutral
    2
  • Somewhat Unsatisfied
    6
  • Very Unsatisfied
    109

Read more about State water heaters

Read reviews of other Water Heater brands

Write a review

Reviews by Series

Current Series
Discontinued Series
Contractors: Are you looking for
Quality Leads? Learn more
123456789Next >>

Date created: 2018-02-17 Name: Jessie Zamora
Location: New Mexico

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"19 month old water heater"
Bought a New water Heater from Samons here in Albuquerque New Mexico in May of 2016, we have had trouble with it for the last 6 months, Pilot doesn't stay on of course we have warranty but, I had to pay Shipping on a gas valve they sent me, we had it Replaced But pilot still doesn't stay on, I called State water heater Warranty Dept again and they sent a guy from Stewards Plumbing here in Albuquerque, he looked at it and made a call to our warranty dept again and they advised him "it probably needs to be cleaned" so he told my husband he would clean it for $247.00-$303.00 Lol he showed my husband how to clean it so my husband cleaned it himself which wasn't dirty at all... The pilot still doesn't stay lit I am calling State water heaters again on Monday.


Find Local Contractors
1. I need a new:
2. My zip code is:

Date created: 2018-01-26 Name: Jean Baumeister
Location: Nebraska

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Horrible"
We bought a State water heater and it leaked just before the warranty ran out, I believe that was a little over 4 years. They did replace it. Now 4 years later it is leaking again and they will not warranty it. We are buying a new water heater, not state, after only 9 years. We have soft water so hard water should not be an issue. The average water heater should last 10-14 years. These crappy water heaters didn't last 5 years.


Date created: 2018-01-23 Name: Kay Miller
Location: Burnet, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Don't buy this brand"
Don't buy a State water heater. Don't even consider it. We purchased one in July, 2015, repaired it 4 times, Then yesterday it totally failed and leaked water all over my beautiful hardwood floors that I'd paid a fortune for. Absolutely ridiculous the aggravation we have gone through with the darn thing. Don't buy one!


Date created: 2018-01-04 Name: william t medlin
Location: Shelby, MI

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Pilot light keeps going out."
I purchased a new mobile home on April 18, 2017 and the tank went out the first week. They put an extension on the exhaust vent and that did not work. They came back and added a pilot wind shield and that has not worked either. Still no solution and frequently no hot water.


Date created: 2017-12-09 Name: Shirish Jamthe
Location: San Jose, CA

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Stay away from state water heaters"
I have had this water heater for 5 years. This brand was selected by installer so I didn't check reviews earlier. The pilot light keeps going off. Earlier it was once a week now it is everyday. So you never have hot water when you need it. As it was under warranty they sent another part but problem persists. The contractor who selected this says they are so bad that they stopped servicing water heaters all together. go figure.


Date created: 2017-08-08 Name: D.Peck
Location: Dyer, IN

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"P.O.S. water heater"
I purchase a commercial 75 State water heater installed for $2200, 3 months later, no hot water. Called the company who installed it, Got some fairy tale about a magical "puff" of wind that was able to travel 3 stories down my chimney, jump a 6" air gap and blew out my polite light. 2 months later, no hot water. Called company, started blaming State for all the issues, unable to find the problem. State doesn't stand behind their products. They are total P.O.s! State away, do not let anyone talk you into this over priced boat anchor. I'm waiting for it to blow my house off the foundation!


Date created: 2017-06-29 Name: Linda
Location: Cincinnati, OH

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"They don't last"
A water heater should not spring a pin hole leak in the metal within just a few years. We have cistern water so no hard water issues. Seems their manufacturing process is junk using inferior metal and they will not stand behind their product. Don't make the mistake we did. Choose another company! (3 months out of warranty. They likely high five'd each other at the corporate office)


Date created: 2017-06-15 Name: Ankit Aggarwal
Location: Austin, TX

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Unable to update warranty registration"
Hi, I have a complaint. Company doesn't register warranty unless home owner provides HUD-1form or co. These restrictions are not helpful for new home buyers as hud-1 Form is not being used these days by all the title companies and co form is only available if the house in the flood hazard area. In my case, I can't provide both documents but provided my legal closing documents which has info of settlement date, seller/buyer info, etc. whatever needed to update the warranty registration. I can't recommend anyone to use your water heaters as the customer service is not providing any workaround. I called few times to your customer center to explain the situation but no other solution was provided. Please get out of your obsolete requirements and update your legal dept. To make changes or accept exceptions on case to case information.


Date created: 2017-06-11 Name: Hughes
Location: Indiana

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Waste of my money"
I purchased my water heater on December 29, 2012 for $1100. On June 17, 2017, I had to have it replaced because it was leaking from underneath. Yes, it was still under warranty, but the company that installed it wanted to charge me $800 to install the new one! I had already paid the company $300 to install a new pressure valve that didn't fix the problem! I called another company who said the entire process of installing a new water heater shouldn't be more than $350 including hourly rate, service call and misc parts. I finally got the other company to come down some, but they wouldn't give me another warranty on the replacement unit. I told them the only reason I let them put in another State was because the other was under warranty. We'll see how long this one lasts. At least this time I was smart enough to purchase a water heater pan so I won't have a mess to clean up when this one goes bad. 4 1/2 years and the unit went bad. Wouldn't recommend State to my worst enemy!!!


Date created: 2017-04-14 Name: cheryl gebben
Location: Algonquin, IL

Satisfaction Rating:

1 of 5 stars Very Unsatisfied

Review:
"Call your State Rep to hold this company Liable."
I purchased a State premier water heater on December 2010. On April 10, 2017 I had a Complete Failure of this unit. I paid $1,600 hundred dollars for this unit not covering the cost of installation. I was told they would do anything for me because the warranty expired. I got 6 years out of a $1,600 water heater! My husband did the monthly draining of the water heater, it was installed by a qualified hvac tech. I talked to several people in Ashland City, TN they could care less would not even consider to pay half of the cost. On page 29 in the instruction manual it says the anode rod should be checked a year later after the warranty period. It didn't corrode the last 4 months! I will tell everyone that I know on the face of this earth never to buy this product!

123456789Next >>

The opinions expressed in these reviews are the opinions of consumers that submitted reviews to mandores.com. They do not necessarily represent the opinions of mandores.com.

Copyright 2002 - 2018 mandores.com